MN Election


MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Democrats in Minnesota collected most of the victories they were expected to in Tuesday’s election, plus some they weren’t.

Tim Walz and Tina Smith won the governor and Senate races, confirming polls that had them leading most of the way. And Angie Craig and Dean Phillips knocked off Republican incumbents to flip two House seats, helping their party grab control of the chamber.

In a race that was up in the air right up to election day, Keith Ellison was elected attorney general after three months dogged by an allegation that he abused his former girlfriend.

In perhaps the biggest surprise of the midterm, Democrats rode strong turnout to overcome an 11-seat deficit and grab control of the state House.

In Minnesota’s other Senate race, Democrat Amy Klobuchar easily captured a third term over little-known state Rep. Jim Newberger.

In the 7th Congressional District Race, Democrat Collin Peterson defeated Republican Dave Hughes.

Some local election results…

Dave Sebesta handily defeated incumbent Hutchinson City Councilor John Lofdahl for the seat 2 position on the council.

For Silver Lake Mayor, challenger Dorothy “Dot” Butler defeated incumbent Mayor Bruce Bebo 58 to 41 percent.

For the Glencoe Council Member at Large Position, Allen Robeck defeated Michael Drew.

The ACGC $15.5-million bond referendum passed by only 22 votes.

The Dassel-Cokato $16-million bond referendum failed by a few hundred votes.

The Eden Valley-Watkins $8-million bond referendum passed by just under 200 votes.

Click here for complete statewide results.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here