Brodzinski wins Mr. Hockey

   SAINT PAUL, Minn. – The Minnesota Minute Men announced today that Bryce Brodzinskifrom Blaine High School is the recipient of the 35th annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boys’ high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Charlie Glockner from Minnetonka High School received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender.
  Jeff Poeschl (Mahtomedi High School) and Mark Manney (Andover High School) received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year. Bruce Johnson received the Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year and Doug Woog was the recipient of the second annual Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award,given to an influential leader dedicated to the growth and development of hockey in Minnesota.
   The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school boys’ hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Junior Scouts/Coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year’s award were: Grant Docter (Minnetonka), Ryder Donovan (Duluth East), Aaron Huglen (Roseau), Jack Jensen (Eden Prairie), Jett Jungels (Edina), Mike Koster (Chaska), Josh Luedtke (Minnetonka), Mason Nevers (Edina) and Charlie Schoen (Andover). Brennan Boynton (Champlin Park) and Ben Fritsinger (Andover) were the finalists for The Frank Brimsek Award this year.
   Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Sam Walker (2018), Casey Mittelstadt (2017), Riley Tufte (2016), Jake Jaremko (2015), Avery Peterson (2014), Grant Besse (2013), Justin Kloos (2012), Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).
   Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Atticus Kelly (2018), Jake Begley (2017),Nick Althaus (2016), Dyllan Lubbesmeyer (2015), Hunter Shepard (2014), David Zevnik (2013), Michael Bitzer (2012), Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O’Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).
   The 35th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet was held at the Saint Paul RiverCentre Grand Ballroom earlier today and hosted by Ali Lucia. The Minnesota Wild sponsor the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet.
Previous articleGibson leads Wolves past Knicks
Next articleSportscast 3-11-19
KDUZ/KARP/KGLB Sports Director, Play by Play Announcer, On Air Personality, and Community Calendar editor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here