MnDot Advises No Travel


WILLMAR, Minn. – (11:15 a.m.) The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) and the Minnesota State Patrol have upgraded state highways in Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Pipestone and Redwood counties from closed to no travel advised. Ice, blowing and drifting snow, and reduced visibility continue to create hazardous driving conditions.

Currently, no travel is advised on state highways in the following areas:

  • Western and southern portions of Chippewa County
  • Kandiyohi County – east and south of Blomkest
  • Lac qui Parle County
  • Lincoln County
  • Lyon County
  • Meeker County – Highway 4, south of Cosmos
  • Meeker County – Highway 7
  • Meeker County – Highway 15, south of Dassel
  • McLeod County
  • Murray County
  • Pipestone County
  • Redwood County
  • Renville County
  • Yellow Medicine County

Motorists are advised not to travel in these areas until conditions improve. The National Weather Service forecasts that winds and snow will increase later today. If so, we anticipate that roads may close again.

No Travel Advised means that the roadway has deteriorated and/or visibility has been reduced to the point that it is very dangerous to travel; there are reports of intermittent white out conditions; and, some weather conditions can be severe enough that road treatments, such as salt or sand, are not effective.

The public can view winter road conditions from plow cameras available through the website. Please note that not all plows have cameras. Road conditions on major highways can also be viewed through the Road Weather Information System (RWIS), which is also part of 511.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here