Primary Election Results


Unofficial primary election results (click here for all Minnesota results)…

Five candidates were on the primary ballot to fill the Hutchinson City Council Seat 3 position after incumbent Councilor Steve Cook announced he would not be seeking re-election.

Brandon Begnaud and John Lofdahl were the top two and move on to the November Election. Begnaud received nearly 44 percent of the vote. Lofdahl garnered nearly 23 percent of the vote.

One McLeod County Commissioner race was on Tuesday’s primary ballot, that being for District 1.

Nathan Schmalz and Jose Luciano were the top two vote-getters and move on to face off in the November election. The seat is currently held by Incumbent Commissioner Ron Shimanski, who did not file for re-election.

Democratic U.S. Sen. Tina Smith and Republican challenger Jason Lewis easily won their primaries in the only statewide races on the ballot Tuesday night.

In Minnesota’s 7th U.S. Congressional District, former state Sen. Michelle Fischbach won a three-way Republican race for the right to challenge Democratic Rep. Collin Peterson.

Peterson, chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, is one of the GOP’s top targets to flip a House seat in November.

President Donald Trump, who won the district in 2016, endorses Fischbach, who formerly served as Minnesota’s lieutenant governor.

Rep. Ilhan Omar of Minnesota has survived a stiff primary challenge from a well-funded opponent who tried to make an issue of her national celebrity.

Omar defeated Antone Melton-Meaux, an attorney and mediator who raised millions in anti-Omar money. The victory means Omar is nearly certain to easily win a second term in November in her solidly liberal district.

Omar will face GOP candidate Lacy Johnson in November.

Primary Results:
Congressional District 5: Rep. Ilhan Omar 
wins decisively over Antone Melton-Meux
Congressional District 7: Fmr. State Senator Michelle Fischbach 
wins decisively over Dave Hughes and Noel Collis
Senate District 7
Jen McEwen defeated Sen. Erik Simonson
Senate District 47
:  On the Republican side…Julia Coleman (daughter-in-law of fmr. Sen. Norm Coleman) defeats Victoria Mayor Tom Funk..onthe DFL side Addie Miller decisively wins over Bala Chintaginjala
Senate District 60
:  Omar Fetah defeats Sen. Jeff Hayden
House District 17A:
DFL’er Ben Dolan defeats Robert Wright.

House District 33B: Republican Andrew Myers defeated Marianne Stebbins, Myers will face off against Rep. Kelly Morrison
House District 51B
:  Liz Reyer defeats Eagan Mayor Mike Maguire in the DFL Primary.
House District 55A:  Eric Mortenson 
beat former Rep. Bob Loonan to set up a re-match with Rep. Brad Tabke
House District 59B
Esther Agbaje defeats Rep. Ray Dehn in the DFL Primary.
House District 66B
Athena Collins defeated Rep. John Lesch

County Races: Winners in BOLD Print

Carver County Commissioner Dist 3-David Hatten – Randy Muluchnik – Matt Udermann
Carver County Commissioner Dist 5-Randy Clark – John Fahey – Mark Halla – Christopher Lund – David Pascoe – Mark Willems

Kandiyohi County Commissioner Dist 5-Duane Anderson – John O Cunningham – Harlan Madsen

Mcleod County Commissioner Dist 1-Anthony Kadlec – Jose Luciano – Nathan Schmalz

Meeker County Commissioner Dist 2-Julie Bredeson – Greg Gilbertson – Joe Tacheny
Meeker County Commissioner Dist 3-Tim Beniot – Paul M Johnson – John L Smith

Renville County Commissioner Dist 5-Steve “Smorgie” Enestvedt – David Hamre – Rick Jansen

Sibley County Commissioner Dist 3-Donelly Boeder – Mark Brandt – James Carnahan – Larry Friedrichs – Peter Koch – Fred Latzke Jr-Ronald Otto – Edward Pioske

Wright County Commissioner Dist 4-Michael Potter – Mary Wetter – Scott Yelle

Wright County Commissioner Dist 5-Daniel Bravinder – Jason Franzen – Mike Kaczmarek – Dan Vick


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here