BRADENTON, Fla. (AP) — Breanna Stewart scored a career playoff-high 31 points — tying Seattle’s franchise playoff record — and Sue Bird had 16 points and nine assists, and the Storm beat Minnesota 92-71 to sweep the Lynx and advance to the WNBA Finals. Stewart added six rebounds, seven assists, three steals and two blocks. Bird and Stewart combined to score or assists on 13 points during a 17-0 run that gave Seattle the lead for good at 24-8 with 54.2 seconds left in the first quarter. Napheesa Collier led Minnesota with 22 points, 15 rebounds and three blocks.

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL – The WNBA today announced that Minnesota Lynx guard Crystal Dangerfield has been named to the 2020 All-Rookie Team. Dangerfield, the 2020 WNBA Rookie of the Year was a unanimous selection, receiving the maximum 11 votes from a panel of the WNBA’s 12 head coaches, who each selected five players regardless of position and were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. 

Dangerfield, the ninth Lynx player and second in a row to earn All-Rookie Team honors (Napheesa Collier 2019, Maya Moore 2011, Monica Wright 2010, Renee Montgomery 2009, Nicky Anosike 2008, Candice Wiggins 2008,  Seimone Augustus 2006), wrapped up her debut season in the WNBA by starting 19 of the final 20 games. She led the Lynx in both scoring (16.2 ppg) and assists (3.6 apg) in the regular season while shooting 47% from the field and 92% from the free throw line. Dangerfield ranked third in the WNBA in FT accuracy at 92.2%, breaking Katie Smith’s club single-season mark of 89.9% set in 2004 and ended the season with the third-highest per-game scoring average ever for a Lynx rookie.The 5-6 guard led all WNBA rookies with eight 20+ point games, which was the most by a Lynx rookie since Augustus tallied 20 such games in 2006. She additionally notched three 20+ point/5+ assist games, leading all WNBA rookies this season and marking the most such games by a Lynx rookie since Lennox in 2000. Dangerfield was chosen as the WNBA’s Rookie of the Month in August and September, becoming the second Lynx rookie to garner the award twice (Moore, 2011).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here